top of page

our SEN provision

areas of need

A child has SEN if they have a learning difficulty or disability which calls for special educational provision to be made that is additional to or different from that generally made for other children of the same age.

There are four broad areas of special educational need. These are: 

  1. Communication and Interaction
    This area of need includes children with Autism Spectrum Condition and those with Speech, Language and Communication Needs
  2. Cognition and Learning

    This includes children with Specific Learning Difficulties, Moderate Learning Difficulties, Severe Learning Difficulties and Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulties

  3. Social, Emotional and Mental Health Difficulties

    This includes any pupils who have an emotional, social or mental health need that is impacting on their ability to learn

  4. Sensory and/or Physical Difficulties

    This area includes children with hearing impairment, visual impairment, multi-sensory impairment and physical difficulties.

The Kind of SEN needs we provide for:

At Wingate Nursery School, we have experience of supporting children and young people with a wide range of need including:

  • General learning Needs

  • Speech, Language and Communication Needs

  • Social and emotional needs

  • Autism Spectrum Condition (ASC)

  • Downs Syndrome

  • Cerebral Palsy

  • Hearing Impairments

The school provides data on the levels and types of need to the Local Authority. This is collected through the school census.​

Key Contacts
Headteacher and SENDCO:
SEND Governor:
bottom of page